About For Anna Magdalena

Mahan Esfahani and Carolyn Sampson

Mahan Esfahani harpsichord
Carolyn Sampson soprano


JS Bach Chorale in F ‘Gib dich zufrieden und sei stille’ 2'
Two Minuets in G 5'
JS Bach
Aria ‘So oft ich meine Tobackspfeife’; Aria ‘Gedenke doch, mein Geist, zurücke’ 5'
Rondeau in B flat minor (Les Bergeries, 6e Ordre) 4'
JS Bach Aria ‘Willst du dein Herz mir schenken’ (Aria di Giovannini) 2'
Nilufar Habibian
new work 16' premiere
CPE Bach
Solo per il cembalo in E flat major 4'
CPE Bach
Two Polonaises in G minor 4'
JS Bach
Musette in D 2'
JS Bach
Cantata ‘Ich habe genung’ (in the version transmitted in the AMB, 1725) 21'

Two stellar performers take to the stage for a concert of works featured in the Anna Magdalena Notebook. The famous music book was gifted by Johann Sebastian Bach to his wife, who noted down pieces composed by Bach and others. Award-winning harpsichordist Mahan Esfahani and renowned soprano Carolyn Sampson perform these works, alongside a new commission of settings of Persian poetry by Iranian composer Nilufar Habibian.