About GCS: Vaughan Williams | A Sea Symphony

Anita Watson soprano
David Pike baritone
Gloucester Choral Society
British Sinfonietta
Jonathan Hope organ
Adrian Partington conductor

Vaughan Williams A Sea Symphony
Torsten Rasch Exultet (commission)

Captivating, uplifting and unforgettable. And that is just the first few bars of Ralph Vaughan Williams’ A Sea Symphony. The truth is, RVW’s famous work is stunning from the first to the last bar, emphatically capturing the drama of the ocean and Walt Whitman’s moving text. Accompanied by the might of a full orchestra and organ for good measure, we are delighted to have the excellent British Sinfonietta playing for this concert, conducted by Adrian Partington.

To some, A Sea Symphony is a gift that keeps on giving. But to others, this could be the inspiration for a lifelong love of music, or a previously unheard enigma.

A Sea Symphony is a poetic and exciting voyage through the mind of a musical genius. An unmissable treat that is accessible to all.

We will also premiere a new commission, Exultet, composed by Torsten Rasch, featuring texts from the Exultet after the Ambrosian Rite and a Letter of Petrarch.